Author Topic: scars showing and being a nurse *trig  (Read 11112 times)

Offline belljar

• 18+
  • Usually here
scars showing and being a nurse *trig
« on: July 23, 2012, 08:13:02 PM »
I am a student nurse and going to be doing a clinical placement in 6 weeks. I have numerous scarrs that will not only be visible with my tunic on but also pretty obvious.

does anyone know if there are any exceptions for wearing long sleeves on a ward?

I just want to know if anyone knows where i stand regarding this before i have to open a can of worms at uni

(i understand it will probably have to be broached anyway, i'd still rather cover up anyway though to be honest)

if anyone has answers , either from working in a hospital or if you have been in this situation i'd be greatful of the advise because i am freaking out about  it big time x  ??????!?

Offline Tallulah

• 18+
  • Usually here
Re: scars showing and being a nurse *trig
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2012, 08:20:00 PM »
Pretty sure there's no flexibility with "bare below the elbow". I'm on a temporary medical team in a few weeks time and can't even wear my medi-alert...

Offline Terri

• Orsem superstar-ess
  • Administrator
  • Always here
  • Redemption.
« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2012, 08:20:49 PM »
I was an NA on a medical ward. There are no exceptions on NHS medical/surgical wards - everyone is supposed to be bare below the elbow for infection control purposes.

I have quite significant scarring on both of my forearms and I, like you, was a bit worried. It was really fine though. A couple of people commented, but it was more curiosity than judgement and they were happy with me saying I had been unwell, but was fully recovered. One patient gave me scar reduction tips, but again, there was no judgement there - she was genuinely trying to be helpful.

If you can, try and go on to the ward with confidence and hold your head high. If you don't seem bothered by your scars, it's less likely that anyone else will be.