Author Topic: Housing Benefit *mt*  (Read 11689 times)

Offline Tallulah

• 18+
  • Usually here
Housing Benefit *mt*
« on: June 15, 2012, 09:45:20 AM »
My claim for housing benfit has been rejected because I'm an intermitting student. I was forced by my University to leave for a year due to physical health problems and have been recieving no support from student finance.

I earn less than £200 a month. I can't work more due to illness. I have no food in my cupboards and £4.43 in my bank. My savings have gone paying rent while I've been waiting for my claim to be processed.

How do they expect me to survive?

Offline babylon5

• 18+
  • Usually here
Re: Housing Benefit *mt*
« Reply #1 on: June 15, 2012, 09:52:47 AM »
you can appeal the decition hun
and ask for it  to be looked at again

Offline Tallulah

• 18+
  • Usually here
« Reply #2 on: June 15, 2012, 09:55:49 AM »
How do I appeal? And how long is that likely to take?

Offline lost

• 18+
  • Gold Member
« Reply #3 on: June 15, 2012, 02:03:26 PM »
It may help if you can prove that you are no longer a registered student, and that you dont receive any income from Student Loans etc.

Offline Tallulah

• 18+
  • Usually here
« Reply #4 on: June 15, 2012, 02:24:48 PM »
I've already proved that, which is why I don't get it. They said if I proved that I wasn't a student it'd be fine, yet they've still said under student legislation I don't qualify. I just don't get it :no:

split

« Reply #5 on: June 15, 2012, 02:48:47 PM »
First things first, get some money for food. You can get a crisi loan to help you through this but would have to be today as they don't open over the weekend. The number is on the direct gov website.

I don't know much about housing benefit from a student perspective but you need to have food to live so get the crisis loan. I would put the URL but on an ancient blackberry and it would take hours by which point crisis loan will be shut for the week. X

Offline babylon5

• 18+
  • Usually here