Author Topic: Work stress...again  (Read 5098 times)

Offline danceforabeat

• 18+
  • Silver Member
Work stress...again
« on: November 16, 2012, 10:09:49 PM »
I think I need to rant more than anything, to stop me SHing to get it out...but argh...work is just getting worse. And you know what? I'm sick of customers screaming and shouting at me like I'm actually trying to ruin their lives when I'm trying my best to help. I'm a local authority benefits officer (i.e. housing and council tax benefits) and the amount of work I have to deal with now after over a fifth of my friends and colleagues were made redundant because of cutbacks is just ridiculous. And of course, because there aren't enough people to do the work anymore, we're behind. And frankly, I do think it's ridiculous that you have to wait 6-8 weeks to get your housing benefit, but you know what? It's not my f*****g fault! It's the government cuts to local authority funding and the councillors that agreed the redundancies. Shouting and screaming at me, using condescending language, ringing everyday, swearing and just being plain rude is not helping. And you know what else isn't helping? Insinuating that me sending a perfectly reasonable letter that is part of my job is going to give you a heart attack that I am responsible for or that I am being unreasonable because you have mental health problems and I am making them worse. You know what? I have f*****g mental health problems and the more you scream and shout the more I'm going home upset with a headache I've had for over a week and wanting to SH. Do you even think about the fact that you are screaming and shouting at an actual person with actual feelings? I used to want to help but now I just want to get through the day without SHing and that's getting more and more difficult.

/rant over. Sorry if I offended anyone. I just cannot take this anymore and I have no other outlet and I really really really need the distraction/outlet/argh right now...