Author Topic: In a benefits muddle...  (Read 3969 times)

Offline Tallulah

• 18+
  • Usually here
In a benefits muddle...
« on: December 14, 2012, 05:19:51 PM »
How do I come off housing benefit? I'm so confused.

And they stopped my council tax benefit, but I'm now a student so I need to claim exemption but I don't know how to do that either.

I didn't realise I'd be paid student finance so quickly, I was expecting to be on benefits for another month and have time to sort it. But my student loan came in today and I don't want to get into trouble  :no:

Offline Terri

• Orsem superstar-ess
  • Administrator
  • Always here
  • Redemption.
Re: In a benefits muddle...
« Reply #1 on: December 14, 2012, 08:25:18 PM »
Here, you just have to fill in a change of circumstances form, which you can pick up from the town hall. You could probably just phone them - it's a different number for each local authority, so you'd need to look at your council's website.

Not sure on the council tax though I'm sorry.

:hug2:
Chief :smurf: Pry Master.

And hope and grace were all I needed.

This isn't everything you are.

Offline Tallulah

• 18+
  • Usually here
« Reply #2 on: December 14, 2012, 09:42:48 PM »
Okay, I can get a change of circumstances form from the benefits place on Monday, and maybe I should just go in and ask to talk to someone and take all the random paperwork I have with me.

Meep. Feel a bit overwhelmed ::)

Offline Terri

• Orsem superstar-ess
  • Administrator
  • Always here
  • Redemption.
« Reply #3 on: December 14, 2012, 09:50:53 PM »
Is that the council benefits place? That would be the best place to go. Do take your documents with you so they can copy them and make sure you get a receipt for them.

It'll be fine. Benefits stuff is always a bit raar inducing, but really, it's OK. :hug2:
Chief :smurf: Pry Master.

And hope and grace were all I needed.

This isn't everything you are.

Offline diamondwithaflaw

• 18+
  • Usually here