Author Topic: PhD research project: adults with Asperger's syndrome/ High-Functioning Autism  (Read 6158 times)

Offline dema

• 18+
  • Usually here
*This research project has been approved by Admin*

Hi, my name is Donna and I’m a PhD researcher at the University of Sussex. I became interested in the experiences of adults with Asperger’s syndrome (AS) a few years ago while doing some voluntary work with a local support group. Since then I have worked as a research assistant on a large government funded project investigating the needs of adults with autistic spectrum conditions (ASC) in the UK, and I am now conducting my own research into the experiences of adults who come to identify as having AS for my PhD thesis. For further information about me: www.sussex.ac.uk/profiles/201129

In my research, which has the working title: ‘Identities of Asperger’s syndrome in the Age of Inclusivity: Prospective and Retrospective Narratives of Diagnosis’, I am trying to identify how adults who have never been diagnosed as having any other developmental condition come to identify as having AS, why they choose to seek or not to seek a diagnosis, and how they experience coming to live with a diagnosis, if they do. I am keen that this research will be influenced as much as possible by the voices of adults with AS, and I will combine this with some theoretical consideration in my thesis.