Author Topic: ESA - Support Group without assessment  (Read 25098 times)

split

ESA - Support Group without assessment
« on: May 10, 2013, 10:53:00 PM »
I am far from being a benefits whizz so a letter i recieved from DWP today has me confused. I have been wating for my ATOS assessment for 4 months, having filled out my questionaire in November and reached my 13 week point in February.

Anyhow, I havent had an assessment but have been told today via a letter that I am being put into the support group. I was wondering if anyone ion the know could tell me if this is normal. It is on mental health grounds that I am on ESA so it isn't as simple as having a physical disability that they can see... It isnt that I am ungreatful, just not used to good things happenning, especially not with the DWP.

Anyone got any insight?

Thanks in advance

Offline katj

• 18+
  • Gold Member
Re: ESA - Support Group without assessment
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2013, 06:09:16 PM »
Am in the support group as well cos of mental healh problems and havent had an assessment either

split

« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2013, 06:21:00 PM »
Not sure whether to call up and confirm it isn't an error.

I haven't spent anything from the back dated money they have given me and I wont until I have confirmed it with DWP. I thought everyone had to have an assessment unless it was a pre-existing physical disability that cannot really be disputed...

It just has me really freaked out.

Thanks for confirming I am not the only one though KatJ. Did you call DWP and confirm what the letter said?

Offline unknown_member

• 18+
  • Usually here
« Reply #3 on: May 11, 2013, 06:37:40 PM »
hi... just to let you know I'm in the support group as well and didn't have an assessment last year... they did phone my CPN though to confirm a few things but after that they left me alone...

If your worried it wouldn't hurt to phone and ask.. but I'm sure it's fine.. I know a few people who are in the same position as me.. xx