Author Topic: Had an accident  (Read 7227 times)

Offline Swinks

• 18+
  • Usually here
Had an accident
« on: October 02, 2012, 10:09:53 PM »
So im a disabled student, and i'm in a new room to what i used to be in. I'm in an adapted one finally. On sunday night, my shower seat broke off the wall, and i've bruised my hip and back badly and cut all my back open on the screws. They finally removed it today but still have not replaced it. They hadn't given me my emergency alarm, so i had to make my own way to security and then to the hospital (i'm at uni by the way). I can't go on placement or uni because i'm a risk for infection in the hospital.. But im not starting to get unwell so it's either coincidence or it's getting infected. i'll find out tomorrow. I'm not sure what to do.. Do i do a formal complaint? It never looked safe but i had no choice but to use it. They clearly hadn't inspected it before i moved in. The week before i slipped in the shower when the light went off randomly. I don't know what to do anymore. i'm currently in agony and really anxious because i just don't feel safe anymore!! I don't know if i should just leave it or make a fuss about it

Offline hayley

• 18+
  • Usually here
Re: Had an accident
« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2012, 10:51:53 PM »
You do need to make a fuss - you've been injured through no fault of your own.  If youdve hit your head you could have died.  I'm not saying you should sue (although you could) but if they are not checking things properly the same could happen to someone else.
Check out my blog! www.borderlineshavemoref un@wordpress.com

Offline babylon5

• 18+
  • Usually here
« Reply #2 on: October 03, 2012, 11:00:33 AM »
You do need to make a fuss - you've been injured through no fault of your own.  If youdve hit your head you could have died.  I'm not saying you should sue (although you could) but if they are not checking things properly the same could happen to someone else.